Up to 40 Tory MPs are Prepared to Sign Letter of No Confidence in Prime Minister Theresa May


A maximum of forty Conservative MPs is said to be ready to sign a letter of no confidence in Prime Minister Theresa May.

The said number has grown in recent weeks since the Tory conference after the government of Theresa May has been struck by a series of crises.

If eight more MPs place their name on the letter where it would trigger a vote of no confidence which, if lost, would result in a Conservative leadership contest.

One senior Tory MP said: “Patience is wearing very thin and in some cases, it has snapped.”

After the disastrous conference speech of Theresa May, there were said to be about 35 names on the list, hastening an attempted coup which failed because of insufficient support.

However, since then, the loss of Sir Michael Fallon and Priti Patel from the cabinet, the sexual harassment scandal, a severe error by Boris Johnson which resulted to a British woman facing a longer jail term in Iran, and the divisions regarding Brexit have all contributed to concerns  in the party that Theresa May is losing grip.

Under Tory rules, 48 MPs are needed to sign a letter of no confidence and deliver the document to the chair of the backbench 1922 Committee to spark the vote on the future of Theresa May.

It arrived as a secret letter from Brexiteers Johnson and Michael Gove appeared, in which they give Theresa May apparent instructions on how to run Brexit.

They said that transition arrangements for the exit of Britain from the European Union must end on June 30, 2021. They also asked the Prime Minister to make sure that members of her top team fall behind their plans by “clarifying their minds” and requested them to “internalise the logic” that they are putting forward.