In the newest iOs update, the iOS 11.3 (and macOS 10.13.5), Apple has launched a new data and privacy feature where the users can get a clearer understanding of how their data is utilised. Now, whenever Apple requests for access to information to allow certain experiences or features, a privacy icon will appear. The icon will show two blue silhouettes shaking hands along with detailed privacy information for those who would want to learn about what is being done with their data.
One of the major fallouts from the Cambridge Analytica scandal of Facebook is that everyone is now suddenly aware of just how much information Facebook and some similar sites and apps collect about the users. Since Apple has usually been critical of the said practices, it seems fitting that it has introduced that philosophy to its most recent iOS update as well.
According to the company, the new privacy feature has already been in the works for a couple of months, mostly as a response to the new General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) of the European Union that will be in effect starting the 25th of May. Apple also says that the users would not see the icon and information pop-up with every new feature; it will only appear when Apple requires your information to allow services and personalisation.
In addition to the new privacy icon, Apple will also start providing tools for privacy management in compliance with the new GDPR ruling of the EU. Beginning in May, iOS users will be able to receive a copy of their data, request for a correction to their data, deactivate thier account, as well as delete their account entirely.